top of page
  • Writer's pictureRichard Downes

Corowned Works 4

Updated: May 11, 2023

Poem 4, 'Little Coughin's' from spoken work artist Wendy Young articulates the voice of working disabled people during Lock Down - and other wordy wonders. Hear here. Note the video is designed as a 360 degree installation. Place your cursor on the screen to see what happens. Watch here.

Little Coughin’s

It is coming …

They say they’re going round people’s houses in China – taking their temperature

if it’s high – locking them in – eh? Well – it won’t happen here!

People in PP Arnold gear – hoods - masks – visors -

Imagine (all the people) – a MASSIVE lock in – not the same connotation at shutting time down the pub

At work me manager says ‘Here Wend’ and proceeds to hand out USB contraptions for our Smartcards

‘What’s this?’ – ‘We may have to work from home – very soon’

‘Really? It’ll never happen here!’

Me the doubter – Doubting Thomasina – my friend’s even made his own visor out of a water bottle – it’s very good but I said ‘Hey no! You’ll not need it’

Denier!

A top Neuro-bod at work tells me ‘They should just lock everything down for six weeks’ - ‘Ha ha!’ I trail down the stairwell behind him but he’s been on the tele and everything – knows his onions – well - his neurologicals

Well next day I get a call ‘DO NOT COME INTO WORK’ THE VOICE OF BIG BROTHER

And it’s here!

Zoom Zoom – I mean – you know - that was a lolly or going to the moon – now I’m talking to poets all round the world – and Swindon

And we’ve got these testing kits – with plastic bits – and these little coffins – about three and a half inches by about just under an inch

With one of those funny black squiggly boxes on that I never really got quite used to – to scan

And we’re testing every day to see if we’ve got the COVID but anyway I’m quite enjoying it – after all no worries about getting home alone – tube rides or filthy bus rides – noisy bus rides to work – the Lockdown is not such a lowdown to me – it’s here and I am free

No echoes of twats at work ‘Would you like a Teeeeeaaaa?’

No putting up with their crap – dominatrixes of the office – spinning around and dominating the whole bloody office

Crap coming out of every orifice

And why didn’t I ever say ‘SHUT THE FUCK UP’

I’ver learnt a lot in Lockdown – I shouldn’t have had to put up with that

And I’ll never have to get that bus again!

Germ spreading humans – gobshites on phones – never heard of ear buds or ear phones

And what do they talk about? They go on and on behind me on the bus and I can’t move because I’m stuck on this travelling coffin!

Coughing (ahem ahem ugh) …

Okay – so I’m having a glass of wine every night

Okay – I’m eating a lot of pancakes with a lot of eggs and I’m getting sensations in my liver and

Okay – next door the M.U.G.A – that’s Council speak for a basketball court is a nightmare because there’s music blaring and I can’t get any work done from home

And the Police won’t help me and the Council won’t help me so I go out

And I get out in time so I don’t have to be bothered with the stress of it

But you know what? It’s far better than ever seeing that bitch – that place

Where a three faced bitch who mocks me – who is sneaky – who just dogs my life

And at this age I’m still putting up with it

WELL HELL NO I’M NOT BECAUSE LOCKDOWN’S FREED ME

I AM FREE

Hey little coffins – I’ll stay here

It’s mad but I’m glad of Lockdown

Damn I lost a friend and a brother on the same day

No need to go to the funeral – save that upset and

I didn’t really know my brother

I miss Peter though …

Has it gone?

Up down up down – COVID figure’s more diverse than Monroe’s hourglass

Given by Professor Whitty – by name not by nature – very serious and sad

But he’s hopeful combined with doubt – flouting Boris ‘wah blah yah’

Van Tam’s cute and cuddly but sadly his job’s to be cautious

Oh well – we can now go to shops and pubs – substantives at work

Falling down the corner – a wind blows – change

Deranged I say ‘No I won’t back - I won’t go back’

Bells of the 84/85 Strike we’re not going back we won’t go back …

Sus laws shush laws - it’s still two metres – it’s still masks

A meal out is out and that’s not much fun

Oh Halle Orchestra – call me a scally

But I’m gonna stay in my house – with my Little Coughin’s (ahem)

16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page